What are the core principles and themes of Catholic social teaching?

What are the core principles of Catholic social teaching?

The threefold cornerstone of CST contains the principles of human dignity, solidarity, and subsidiarity. It is the foundation on which to form our conscience in order to evaluate the framework of society and is the Catholic criteria for prudential judgment and direction in developing current policy-making.

What are the 7 themes of the Catholic social teachings?

Catholic Social Teaching Research Guide: The 7 Themes of Catholic Social Teaching

  • Life and Dignity of the Human Person.
  • Call to Family, Community, and Participation.
  • Rights and Responsibilities.
  • Option for the Poor and Vulnerable.
  • The Dignity of Work and the Rights of Workers.
  • Solidarity.
  • Care for God’s Creation.

What are the 9 themes of Catholic social teaching?

Terms in this set (9)

  • Dignity of every human person and human rights. …
  • Colonialism and the economic environment. …
  • Family Life. …
  • Property ownership and modern society-rights and responsibility. …
  • Subsidiarity and the proper role of government. …
  • Peace and disarmament. …
  • Option for the poor and vulnerable.
IMPORTANT:  What is the difference between Byzantine Catholic and Roman Catholic?

What are the 8 principles of Catholic social teaching that guide Caritas work?

Catholic Social Teaching

  • Preferential Option for the Poor. We live in an amazing world with enough resources for everyone. …
  • Dignity of the Human Person. We are made in God’s image. …
  • Care for our Common Home. We are responsible for looking after the world we live in. …
  • Subsidiarity and Participation. …
  • The Common Good. …
  • Solidarity.

What are the four 4 Sources of Catholic social teaching?

Catholic Social Teaching

  • Primary Sources.
  • Meta Sites.
  • Papal Encyclicals.
  • Apostolic Letter.
  • USCCB Social Justice Documents.
  • Apostolic Exhortation.

What are the Catholic social teachings and their meanings?

The Catholic tradition teaches that human dignity can be protected and a healthy community can be achieved only if human rights are protected and responsibilities are met. Therefore, every person has a fundamental right to life and a right to those things required for human decency.

What are 5 basic beliefs of Roman Catholicism?

The chief teachings of the Catholic church are: God’s objective existence; God’s interest in individual human beings, who can enter into relations with God (through prayer); the Trinity; the divinity of Jesus; the immortality of the soul of each human being, each one being accountable at death for his or her actions in …

What are three elements of Catholic social teaching?

The social teachings are made up of three distinct elements:

  • Principles of reflection;
  • Criteria for judgement; and.
  • Guidelines for action.

What is Catholic social teaching Why is it important?

Catholic Social Teaching (CST) offers a way of thinking, being and seeing the world. It provides a vision for a just society in which the dignity of all people is recognised, and those who are vulnerable are cared for.

IMPORTANT:  You asked: What is congregational church government?