Your question: What are the 6 liturgical seasons of the church year?

What are the 6 liturgical seasons and their colors?

The feasts of Christmas Day and Christmastide, Epiphany Sunday, Baptism of the Lord Sunday, Transfiguration Sunday, Easter Season, Trinity Sunday, and Christ the King Sunday are represented by white. Green is the colour for periods of Ordinary Time.

What are the main seasons of the church?

The Liturgical Seasons of the Catholic Church

  • Advent: Prepare the Way of the Lord. Westend61 / Getty Images. …
  • Christmas: Christ Is Born! susannah v. …
  • Ordinary Time: Walking With Christ. …
  • Lent: Dying to Self. …
  • The Easter Triduum: From Death Into Life. …
  • Easter: Christ Is Risen!

What are the cycles of the liturgical year?

In each cycle of the Liturgical Calendar, you will find six Seasons: (1) Advent, (2) Christmas, (3) Lent, (4) Triduum, (5) Easter, and (6) Ordinary Time.

What are the colors of each liturgical season?

The Use of Color in the Catholic Liturgical Year

  • Green: The color of vestments used during ordinary time. …
  • Purple or violet: Used during Advent and Lent, and along with white and black, these colors may also be used at Funeral Masses.
  • White and gold: Most appropriate for Christmas and Easter.
IMPORTANT:  Is it OK to mark in your Bible?

What liturgical cycle year is 2021?

2020-2021 is liturgical year B. The feast days of saints celebrated in one country are not necessarily celebrated everywhere.

What season is the Catholic Church in?

The Roman Catholic Church year begins on the first Sunday in Advent, which is the fourth Sunday before Christmas. Until 1969, after Advent and Christmas, there followed the seasons of Epiphany, Pre-Lent, Lent, Easter, Ascension, and Pentecost.

What are the 4 parts to a Catholic Mass?

The Mass is split into four main parts:

  • Introductory Rites – includes the Opening Prayer, Penitential Rite and the Gloria.
  • Liturgy of the Word – includes the Readings, Gospel, Homily and Prayers of the Faithful.
  • Liturgy of the Eucharist – includes the Eucharist Prayer, the Our Father and Holy Communion.

Why are liturgical seasons important?

The liturgical calendar helps us celebrate and understand more fully the entire mystery of Jesus Christ, from his Incarnation and birth until his Ascension, the day of Pentecost, and the expectation of his return in glory.