What are the different liturgical celebrations of the Church?

Best Prayer bonus

What are the liturgical celebrations?


  • Baptism.
  • Eucharist.
  • Confirmation.
  • Penance, also called Confession and Reconciliation.
  • Anointing of the Sick, formerly called Extreme Unction and Last Sacraments.
  • Holy Orders.
  • Matrimony.

What are the 3 most important celebrations in the liturgical year?

The main seasons are:

  • Advent.
  • Christmas.
  • Lent/Holy Week.
  • Easter.
  • Ordinary Time.

What are the main liturgical traditions in the Catholic Church?

The Code of Canons of the Eastern Churches states that the rites with which it is concerned (but which it does not list) spring from the following five traditions: Alexandrian, Antiochian, Armenian, Chaldean, and Constantinopolitan.

What is the most important liturgical celebration in the Catholic Church?

Triduum is the Church’s greatest celebration. Triduum lasts three days (from Holy Thursday evening until Easter Sunday evening) and we remember and celebrate in the liturgy, with many traditions and rituals, the suffering, death, and Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

What are the examples of liturgy?

An example of liturgy is the sacrament of the Eucharist. A prescribed form or set of forms for public religious worship. Prescribed forms or ritual for public worship in any of various religions or churches. A predetermined or prescribed set of rituals that are performed, usually by a religion.

IMPORTANT:  Does forgiveness remove the consequences of sin?

What are the three elements of liturgy?

What are the three elements of liturgy?

  • mass. perfect form of the liturgy because we join most perfectly to Christ.
  • sacraments. special channels of Grace given by Christ and makes it possible to love the life of grace.
  • liturgy of the hours.

What are the 3 Catholic rites?

The three sacraments of initiation are baptism, confirmation and Eucharist. Each is meant to strengthen your faith and forge a deeper relationship with God.