What is the hierarchy of the Eastern Orthodox Church?

Who was at the top of the church hierarchy in the Eastern Orthodox Church?

The nominal head of the Eastern Orthodox Churches is the Patriarch of Constantinople. However, he is only first among equals and has no real authority over Churches other than his own. There are 15 ‘autocephalous Churches’, listed in order of precedence.

Who is the leader of Orthodox?

On October 22, 1991, in Istanbul, the Holy Synod of the Eastern Orthodox church elected him archbishop of Constantinople and ecumenical patriarch, succeeding Dimitrios. Bartholomew thus became the spiritual leader—“first among equals”—of all the self-governing Eastern Orthodox churches throughout the world.

Who was the first patriarch of the Orthodox Church?

The ecumenical patriarch is regarded as the representative and spiritual leader of Orthodox Christians worldwide.

Ecumenical Patriarch of Constantinople
First holder Andrew the Apostle (as bishop) Alexander (as archbishop) Anatolius (as patriarch)
IMPORTANT:  What mountain did Jesus meet his disciples?